Sunday, December 8, 2013


The mandala with 3 realms, namely Kamadhatu (the world of desires), Rupadhatu (the world of forms), and finally Arupadhatu (the formless world). Arupadhatu is the realm of heaven where there is no form, nothing seem to be exist except air. Rupadhatu is the realm of earth where all forms exist. Kamadhatu is the realm of human where all living being exist and full of desires.
This is the mandala that links Taoism and Buddhism together.
There are 5 layers of 8 trigram or ba gua(八卦) . From the bottom layer to the top layer. each represents Mercury(Budha), Mars(Mangala), Jupiter(Bṛhaspati ), Venus (Sukra ) and Saturn(Sani) respectively.
The five GRAHA planets are:
Sukra (Venus)
Mangala (Mars)
Bṛhaspati (Jupiter)

The Borobudur ground plan taking the form of this mandala.

No comments:

Post a Comment